Christian Talk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is tongues proof of being filled with the Holy Spirit?

+4
Waqar Daniel
dove
liberated
FaithfulSon
8 posters

Go down

Is tongues proof of being filled with the Holy Spirit? Empty Is tongues proof of being filled with the Holy Spirit?

Post  FaithfulSon Fri 13 Jun 2008, 7:12 am

While searching Internet I came across a wonderful article, that answers many unanswered questions. I hope that you will also enjoy this article the way I did.

I was just searching for information in your site after not finding the answer in the Bible, I wasn't brought up reading the Bible or for that fact knowing anything about God. Although I have been praying and searching for truths in his word for about 12 years,and I can't seem to find the answer to this question. Does there have to be a manifestation of tongues in order to be filled with the Holy Spirit?

My response is in Green:

No speaking in tongues is not the evidence of being filled with the Holy Spirit. It was a sign in the early church but it was not what people claim tongues are today. Let me show you what I mean:

(Acts 2:6-12 NIV) [6] When they heard this sound, a crowd came together in bewilderment, because each one heard them speaking in his own language. [7] Utterly amazed, they asked: "Are not all these men who are speaking Galileans? [8] Then how is it that each of us hears them in his own native language? [9] Parthians, Medes and Elamites; residents of Mesopotamia, Judea and Cappadocia, Pontus and Asia, [10] Phrygia and Pamphylia, Egypt and the parts of Libya near Cyrene; visitors from Rome [11](both Jews and converts to Judaism); Cretans and Arabs-- we hear them declaring the wonders of God in our own tongues!" [12] Amazed and perplexed, they asked one another, "What does this mean?"